16 Comments

While I disagree with some of your statements/opinions on other substack sites, I appreciate your respectful approach to other people's opinions, and I look forward to reading all of your articles. But at the moment I'm busy getting out the next article on my own substack site, which is also free and also recently launched this month. And I like the idea of your Disclaimer right up front. It sets the tone of respect.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you. I believe this philosophy would go a long way toward cooling some of the argumentative tone in comments, and in politics.

Things we feel to be certain truth may appear differently to others. We each have a unique perspective and it's worthwhile to acknowledge it.

Expand full comment

You know, I've already learned something very important from your site, without even reading through it yet. Sometimes I say "There is a neo-fascist movement ..." but I should be saying "I believe there is a ..."

I do try to provide evidence to support my opinions, but to state it as a fact up front, well, that's wrong. Like you say, it's just my opinion, it's not a fact.

But I'm surprised and delighted that you (a strong Trump supporter) and I (I put him in the category of demagogues like Mussolini and Joe McCarthy, etc.) can still agree on so many things. And especially on the need for respectful conversation. Because it does seem to me like an Age of Rage.

Imagine, a Trump-lover and a Trump-hater on the same page. Now that's a rarity in today's political environment. Gives me hope. Gives me hope.

And your recent post carries a lot of weight: government isn't the solution. I agree, I think it's the problem. But to me the choice right now is between Bad gov't (Democrats) and Worse gov't (Republicans). And while i do curse both their houses, I also fear this current crop of Republicans are dangerous - that's why I'm writing my blog.

But now I think I need to also write an article about the completely incompetent Dems - I mean, they don't deserve to be re-elected, they're a clown show. But Bad is better than Worse.

Anyway, I would truly be interested in your comments about my site. I'm new at it too, and now for our dialogue I feel more open to different perspectives. As you see, I've been promoting it through other substacks (especially Steady) and running up subscribers, but no comments or feedback, which was what i was mostly hoping for. I make my case, with evidence, and see what people say. But so far, it's pretty quiet; like i'm talking to myself.

At my age I've seem governments and leaders come and go from the right and the left and honestly, they don't seem to make anything better. Only worse. But we can't just ignore them, so I'm doing my bit to fight against something that i truly believe is dangerous.

Also, after the headaches of figuring out how to get the site up and running, I'm actually enjoying writing these articles. Not that i'm going to change a single mind; but my clock is running down so at least i feel that I had my say. I know the world doesn't care, but I get some comfort from doing it.

Good to meet you.

Expand full comment
author

I read your comment through again this morning and found another bit of common ground with you.

During times when it seems there is nothing happening in our Congress but stalling, with one party or the other just blocking up everything, maybe that lack of action is a good thing. While we would like to see our tax dollars applied to good works, maybe no action is better than bad action. Perhaps that was foreseen by the founders when they wrote the Constitution.

Expand full comment

I agree; sometimes the less a gov't does the better. I think many politicians feel they have to launch some kind of initiative or project, "their" signature project, like Biden's Cancer Moon Shot - sure it's a good thing to fight cancer (I know) but it's also a kind of political legacy thing.

Once upon a time leaders and parties had "platforms" that they ran on: if elected we're gonna do this. But now they run on just about anything that will pull in votes or the "issue" of the moment (gas prices!) with no real overall strategy.

It's because politics has really just come down to "getting elected." Period. Then immediately starting your campaign to get "re-elected." It isn't about governing, it isn't about doing something "for the people" it's just about tapping into their emotions at election time and saying I hear you and i'm the guy to fix your problems - but they're just saying that to get elected.

I guess i've seen too many election cycles with big promises and little results - it's just about elect and re-elect me.

I'm feeling a big red tide about to wash over the US, and lots of noise, but I doubt any real good will come from this. A year from now it'll be a new big issue and lots of noise but will life be better? Might be worse. So yes, GG, maybe no action is better than bad action. Let them play the election game and we'll just take care of ourselves as best we can.

I see you've been writing some articles; i'll get to them as soon as the air clears a bit. Take care.

Expand full comment
author

Today it seems the balance of power is very tight. It may be that Democrats will have majorities in the House and Senate. That surprises me but the results still show us to be very evenly divided, and still within the range of a balance. I'm happy to see Democrats less angry and afraid. Maybe this will be a good opportunity for less focus on heated rhetoric and more focus on the issues at hand.

Expand full comment
author
Oct 30, 2022·edited Nov 1, 2022Author

If you put a similar disclaimer, you don't have to keep saying "I think" , "I believe" or "in my opinion". That get's repetitive, and it's really understood that it is all opinion.

I've read many of Einstein's books, and his view even of science was that it's mostly opinion based on observation. If you know science, any object viewed from a different point of reference will appear different. It depends on the observer. Furthermore, the uncertainty principle states that measurement of an object changes it's state. Einstein was also a Philosopher. My blog name is the title of one of his books. It's written in layman's terms and I recommend it to anyone.

When a doctor gives you a diagnosis and recommends treatment, does he recommend a second fact? No, he recommends a second opinion. The diagnosis is his opinion only.

I'll take a look at your site and drop a comment or two. Mine is intentionally incognito. To be revealed after death for my family to browse more deeply into the man if they so desire.

Thanks for your cordial nature. It would be nice if the condition was contagious.

Expand full comment
author

And yes, i'm getting old too. I've done a lot of listening and observing. It'ts time to summarize for posterity.

It is also very enjoyable, i agree.

Expand full comment
author
Oct 30, 2022·edited Oct 30, 2022Author

Good to meet you too!

Expand full comment
Oct 6, 2022Liked by GandalfGrey

There is something about you that wakens my consciousness. Some of your comments on other sub stacks irritate me. However, there is something uniquely appealing to me. Maybe I sense your ability to grow.

Expand full comment
author

Wow! That is very kind of you to say.

Thank you for your honesty!

Someone said that without a tension or some disagreement, what is the reason for a discussion at all. You're right, this is how we learn and grow.

I find echo chambers very dull and cultish.

Thanks again!

Expand full comment

Reading now Gandalf. Just for a bit and more when time permits. Thx.

Expand full comment

Technical question, GG: how did you get that Disclaimer box to stay at the top of your page like that? Is there a button somewhere for Disclaimers?

Expand full comment
author
Dec 30, 2022·edited Dec 30, 2022Author

Yes, you "pin" the article.

Click on the three dots down at the bottom of your article. It will give the option to "Pin on Home Page".

Expand full comment

Aha! Click the button!

Thank you, sir

Expand full comment
author

3 dots at the top of your article. Select "pin to top"

Expand full comment